Click here to download the agenda in PDF Format



08:30- 09:00

Registration & Welcome Coffee

09:00- 09:10

Welcome Address


·         R. SCHOENTGEN, Chair Hydrogen Europe & FCH JU Governing board

·         B. BIEBUYCK, Executive Director, FCH JU

09:10– 10:30

Session I. Governance for Innovation

A public-private partnership: the successful model


·         P.BUSQUIN, ex-Commissioner RTD


·         R.STROHMEIER Director-General, Publications Office


·         D. RISTORI, Director General, DG ENER (video)


·         F. DARCHIS, Senior Vice President + Member of the Exec. Committee Air Liquide


·         A. SCHNETTLER, Senior Vice President Research In Energy and Electronics, Siemens

10:30- 11:00

Coffee break & networking

11:00- 12:30

Session II. Hydrogen economy

Fuel cells and hydrogen: from manufacturers to end-users


·         P.E.FRANC, Secretary General Hydrogen Council


·         R. MAC EWEN, CEO, Ballard


·         D. WILSON, CEO, Hydrogenics


·         J.A. LOKKE, CEO, NEL Hydrogen


·         A. RAVAGNI, CEO, SOLIDpower


·         T. BUERGLER, Head of R&D,  Voestalpine


·         D. YORKE, New Technology, Training & Projects Manager, Tower Transit

12:30- 13:30

Lunch break & networking

13:30- 14:30

Session III. Hydrogen society, global perspective

From a separate niche to a cross-sectorial approach in different regions of the world


·         B.FROIS, Chair, IPHE


·         E. DE WIT, Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, The Netherlands


·         D. Papageorgopoulos, DoE, USA


·         H. KONDO, New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organisation, Japan


·         K. BONHOFF, NOW, Germany


·         J. SALTMARSH, Department of Business, Energy, and Industrial Strategy, UK


·         Prof. M. PAN, Wuhan University of Technology, China

14:30- 15:00

Coffee break & networking

15:00- 16:15

Session IV. Collaborative innovation

Collaboration between research and industry to address societal challenges


·         L. ANTONI, CEA, Chair Hydrogen Europe Research


·         J. KIVIAHO, VTT Technical Research Center Finland


·         C. SATTLER, DLR


·         D. JONES, CNRS



16:15- 17:00

Session V. Future outlook


·         R. SCHOENTGEN, ENGIE, Chair Hydrogen Europe & FCH JU Governing board


·         M. BAKRAN, EC, Deputy Director- General DG MOVE


·         J. METTHEY, EC, Deputy Director- General Research Programmes, DG RTD


·         T. CONSTANTINESCU, EC, Principal advisor DG ENER

17:00- 17:10

Closing words and celebration


·         R. SCHOENTGEN, Chair, Hydrogen Europe & FCH JU Governing board

·         B. BIEBUYCK, Executive Director, FCH JU


Cocktail reception